Home > Feature Beeps > C.P. Yogeshwar resigns from Congress

C.P. Yogeshwar resigns from Congress

Karnataka MLA C.P. Yogeshwar has resigned from the Congress amid growing differences with the party leadership.

“I have resigned from the Congress’ primary membership and as a legislator in protest against the indifference of the leadership and for ignoring my contribution to the state,” he told reporters at Channapatna, about 70 km from here in the old Mysuru region, on Saturday.

Yogeshwar, 55, was elected on the Samajwadi Party (SP) ticket in the 2013 assembly elections and joined the Congress during the Lok Sabha polls next year.

“I will decide my future course of action after discussing the political situation in the state with my supporters and voters of my constituency on October 22,” reiterated Yogeshwar, a second time MLA.

Regretting that he was forced to quit the Congress as he did not see future for him under its present leadership, the former minister said he was cut-up by the interference of Energy Minister D.K. Shivakumar and his younger brother and Lok Sabha member D.K Suresh who hail from Ramangara district.

“My decision to join the BJP or Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) depends on the advice of my voters, as their welfare and happiness are more important for me as their elected representative,” asserted Yogeshwar.

Yogeshwar, who belongs to the dominant Vokkaliga community, joined the BJP in 2008 and was a minister in the B.S. Yeddyurappa government.

The assembly elections will be held in Karnataka in April next year.