Home > Assorted Beeps > Everything you want to know about INS Khanderi – Scorpene Class Submarine

Everything you want to know about INS Khanderi – Scorpene Class Submarine

The second of the six submarines to be built​ by Mazgaon Dock Shipbuilders Limited (MDL) and DCNS of France, INS Khanderi was launched on January 12, 2017. Being built under the Project 75 of Indian Navy, this scorpene class submarines has superior stealth capabilities. The first submarine INS Kalavari, already launched, is currently undergoing sea trials and will soon be inducted into Navy. One submarine each will be rolled out in a 9-month interval. Navy aims to induct all the six submarines by 2021-22. ​

What’s special about INS Khanderi?

  • Go into stealth mode during crisis or war like situations
  • Launch crippling attack using torpedoes
  • Attack using tube-launched anti-missile whilst under-water or on surface
  • Attack enemy target using precision guided missile
  • Designed to operate in all theatres, even in tropics
  • Have a robust means of communication to enable interoperability
  • Can undertake multifarious types of missions
  • Operates efficiently during anti-surface warfare, anti-submarine warfare, for intelligence gathering, mine laying, surveillance.

INS Khanderi will undergo rigorous sea trials till December this year and then will be inducted and put into operation by Indian Navy.

But, there’s a problem…

The primary weapon of INS Khanderi, the Black Shark torpedo is currently missing because it is manufactured by Finmeccanica, an Italian company banned under Augusta Westland case. A suitable alternate is being looked at.

Why is it named Khanderi?

In 17th century when Marathas were reigning in the region, they were duty bound & bestowed the responsibility upon themselves to ensure their supremacy at the sea. So, they have built a fort by name Khanderi. Khanduri is an Island fort.

Currently Navy operates 13 conventionally powered submarines and 2 nuclear submarines. the two nuclear class submarines are INS Arihant and INS Chakra. The former being a Ballistic Missile Submarine, while the latter being an Attack Submarine. The diesel-electric submarines include submarines from the Sindhughosh class and the Shishumar class, both being attack submarines.


You may also like
India to enhance the anti-submarine warfare capabilities of Naval Ships
India clinched Under-19 World Cup for the fourth time, defeats Australia by 8 wickets
India crushes Pakistan in under-19 World Cup semi-finals
India will be tough opponents: South Africa coach