Home > Sports > Sri Lanka defeated Australia after 17 years in test series

Sri Lanka defeated Australia after 17 years in test series

It took 17 years to the Sri Lankan team for defeating Australia in a test series. Winning two consecutive test matches Sri Lanka now holds the title of number one test team in the world.

In the second test Sri Lanka beat Australia by 229 runs within 3 days. The Sri Lankan team had already won the first test by 106 runs in Pallekele last week.

Chasing 413 runs to win the match, Australia was bowled out for just 183 runs in its second innings as the match ended inside three days at Galle International stadium.

After losing the match and the series too Australian Captain Steven Smith said: “It’s a very difficult to play spinners, especially when you come from Australia, it’s a challenge for us and we have to work a lot on this problem”.

Australia has now lost eight successive Test matches in Asia.

Kumar Sangakkara and former captain Mahela Jayawardene tweeted and expressed happiness on team’s historic victory. The third Test will be played from 13 August (Saturday) in Colombo.
Brief Scores:
Sri Lanka: 281 (Kusal Mendis 86, Angelo Mathews 54; Mitchell Starc 5 for 44)

Australia: 106 (David Warner 42, Mitchell Marsh 27; Dilruwan Perera 4 for 29)

Sri Lanka: 237 (Dilruwan Perera 64, Angelo Mathews 47; Mitchell Starc 6 for 50)

Australia: 183 (David Warner 41, Steven Smith 30, Adam Voges 28, ; Dilruwan Perera 6 for 70)

Srilanka won by 229 runs